Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author

trump
      Participant

What is the purpose of the government’s job retention scheme, paying 80% of people’s salaries to keep them in a job? Why do it? What is the benefit to the UK, to businesses, to individuals? Short terms? Longer term? What would happen if they didn’t do it?

Robert
      Participant

What is the purpose of the government’s job retention scheme

The clue is in the name.

Individuals keep their job, businesses keep their staff and stand a chance of not going bust. We have half a chance of having an economy that doesn’t totally collapse and is able to bounce back coming out the other side of this.

Ian
      Participant

It also gives people less incentive to break the lockdown. If a business can furlough their staff, it’s easier to put their business on hold. If not, they are more likely to still tell their staff to come in. As a freelancer, my first reaction to shut down and my work being cancelled was to find other work in a key worker role. If people don’t have money coming in, they won’t stay at home.

yocal
      Participant

There are many businesses that are viable normally, but currently have little or no income due to there being no customers (hotels, restaurants, bricks-and-mortar retailers, travel companies, and many others).

Not many can afford to pay wages for more than a month or two when they have no income, so they’d simply be going out of business at a huge rate, resulting in massive levels of unemployment and a serious lack of services and expertise when the crisis passes.

The furlough scheme is an attempt to bridge the income gap for these companies so they don’t vanish, and to make it make sense for them to keep as many as possible of their staff employed in the meantime.

Davedave
      Participant